4blus04b

 While I was clearing the dinner table this evening, master was speaking of an African American army that fights for the Union. I believe he said said they were called the 54th Regiment. Although he was continuously dissing the regiment, he did manage to mention their notable honor. At Fort Wagner, less than a week ago, the unit lost the majority of their people, including their commander, but continued to fight on without waiting for reinforcements. I personally find this fascinating while master thinks it is a big joke, along with most of his thoughts about this war. It is amazing that the Union is making this much progress with accepting blacks into their society and believe the regiment was only possible because of this progress. I think if I were to be forced to leave my master and my home, that it is nice to know that I would be welcomed into the society in the north. Next, I believe there will be an integrated army. Goodnight diary.